“It means nothing to me…”

After the excellent results against the Milan clubs we were brought back down to Earth with a thud. Successive defeats against Entella (H), 2-0, and Atalanta (A), 1-0, did not set us up well for our big derby against Fiorentina. However, they were struggling in the league so we were optimistic. La Viola took an early lead but goals in each half from Samou Sissoko gave us a well deserved 2-1 win. It was also a result that saw the Fiorentina manager sacked and a defeat for Lazio on the same day also saw their manager relieved of his position.

These were proper big clubs, both with 4 star reputations, but in a proper save I wouldn’t have considered leaving The Millers. However, this isn’t a proper save. the point of this is to be the first to win the Champions League and much as though I’ve became found of Siena I feel I’ll have more chance of challenging for trophies at a bigger club. So I looked at both jobs and decided to apply for the Lazio job.

As my application was reviewed we won in the Italian Cup 4th Qualifying Round against Benevento and earned a very credible 0-0 draw with Roma and then, despite my relatively poor reputation, Lazio invited me for an interview. After that we drew 1-1 at home to Chievo and Fiorentina invited me for an interview, even though I hadn’t applied. No harm in going along I thought.

The Chievo game would turn out to be my last for The Millers. The day after the Fiorentina interview Lazio offered me the position of manager. It was too good to turn down and I left Siena with a heavy heart.

My first impression of Lazio is that their squad is fucking massive and, frankly, not good enough. Not one player is a potential 5 star player although they do have 4 or 5 decent prospects in their youth squads, unfortunately they are all out on loan. I’ll probably bring in some staff but I’ve been given a wage budget of £1.2m and a transfer budget of £9m to turn things around. Considering I haven’t spent any money on a player yet that’s nice to have. I’ll get stuck in and do a more detailed update soon.

UPDATE: My first game will be against Siena

Leave a Reply

