Pro-tip: remember to back-up your work

Long story short, I’ve lost my save.

I could go into a long, drawn-out tale of woe, explaining how it wasn’t really my fault, but the bottom line is, I made an arse of it, and didn’t have a back-up copy to call upon.

So, what next? Well, I spoke with John, and this is the plan:

I bought a copy of the in-game editor, £3.99 from Steam, and attempted to tweak my profile and get it as close to what it was before. My old profile is here, and the new one is below.

The coaching and mentality numbers are back to what they were, but I can’t do much about the characteristic details, or the relationships bit. I’ve also lost the fact that I previously managed (and won the league with Vendée Herbiers Football, and with it go my career stats.

Once I’d got my profile updated, I started a new game, unemployed, and went on holiday for 4 years. On my return, I planned to use the editor and get myself the job at Nîmes Olympique.

But there was a hitch. They’d just been promoted to Ligue 1.

So, what I’ll now do is take over at one of the teams who have just been relegated from Ligue 1 into Ligue 2. My choices are ESTAC TroyesDijon FCO, or Angers FCO. Of the three, ESTAC Troyes look most like Nîmes, with a 3-star rating, secure finances, and a stadium which holds around 20,000.

And now we’re into season 4. As manager of ESTAC Troyes.

In some alternate universe, the Herbs got promoted and won a league title. Unfortunately for them, they haven’t seen the same success in this save.

2 thoughts on “Pro-tip: remember to back-up your work”

Leave a Reply

