VHF – Last few games of the season

We joined Les Herbiers Vendée in late November, and found ourselves bottom of the 18-team league. The objective was set: avoid relegation. Did we do it?

Game 23 (A) US Créteil-Lusitanos

First up is an away tie against the team sitting in 3rd place. I’ll be honest, I’ve written this one off. As long as I can take points against the teams around me in the following 3 matches, then this one can get tae. Accordingly, we get pumped 3-1.

Game 24 (H) ASM Belfort

I’ve suddenly realised that this, and the next 2 games are the same fixtures as I faced in my first few games here, when I used my attacking 4-3-3 formation. Fuck it, in for a penny. If it worked before, then I assume it’ll work again. And it does! A 2-1 win against Belfort sees them fall into the relegation zone, as we creep clear. Game on!

Game 25 (A) AS Béziers

4-3-3 again, right? Another 3 points towards safety, right? Well, no, not quite. Instead, a nail-biting 3-3 draw, where we equalise with an 86th minute penalty. This is not for the feint of heart. We go into the penultimate match still able to be relegated.

Game 26 (H) CA Bastia

And this, this, is where we turn it on when it matters. 4-1. Four bloody one. Amazing. The barely-mentioned-prior-to-this Garland Gbelle scores a hat-trick and gets a 9.5 rating, while Greg “Born to” Houla gets the fourth. We are officially safe, and I can sleep soundly tonight.

Game 27 (A) US Concarneau

Meh, who cares, eh? We narrowly lose 3-2 away from home, but I’m already booking the holidays for the lads and smoking Cuban cigars on the touchline with Hakin.

End of season review coming up, as well as a couple of notes on what’s next.

Leave a Reply

